Fast and famous: Formula E back in Monaco


With the ninth race of the season in Monaco, Formula E is slowly but surely entering the home straight of the season. After eight different winners in eight races, the battle for the title in both the drivers' and team standings is still completely open. Team Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler has started a sensational comeback – one that pilots Daniel Abt and Lucas di Grassi are determined to continue on the Mediterranean mini state’s city circuit.
The ninth race of the ongoing season on Saturday, May 11, marks the return to an illustrious venue for Formula E: for the third time after 2015 and 2017, the fully electric racing series is held in Monaco – on a shortened version of motor racing’s most famous city circuit. The principality on the French Riviera has hosted car races since 1929. The Circuit de Monaco is laid out directly around the harbor and, following Silverstone and Monza, is the oldest Grand Prix circuit in the world. 

Chase for the championship continues

Team Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler with the two drivers Daniel Abt and Lucas di Grassi is still within striking distance of the top of the standings and wants to score points again in the principality. The reigning teams’ champions, di Grassi and Abt, are currently in fourth and eighth place of the drivers’ standings. Both still have title chances in the remaining five of 13 races. Each of this season’s eight races has seen a different winner – this results in the closest title fight in Formula E history. Lucas ddi Grassi (one victory, one runner-up finish) and Abt (third-placed twice) have each mounted the podium twice. In Monaco, his home of choice, Lucas di Grassi finished runner-up in Formula E in 2015 and in 2017.

Monaco: Future mobility’s on the way

The principality has been promoting vehicles with alternative and more sustainable powertrains for nearly 15 years. Specifically, Prince Albert II, who has been reigning since 2005, is both a horsepower and environmental enthusiast. Shortly after his coronation, he had the fleet of the Grimaldi dynasty, which has been ruling for some 700 years, converted to hybrid and fully electric vehicles.

This is Formula E

Formula E is a FIA-sanctioned motor racing series for fully electric cars. In 2018/2019, Formula E season five, eleven teams and 22 drivers are on the grid. Formula E races worldwide on temporary circuits in the hearts of metropolises such as Hong Kong, Berlin and New York City. From December 15, 2018 until July 14, 2019, the ABB FIA Formula E Championship is holding 13 rounds at twelve venues. Each race lasts 45 minutes, plus one lap.

Schaeffler in Formula E

Schaeffler is one of the co-founders and one of the most notable and successful players in Formula E. In the 2016/2017 season, Team Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler won the drivers’ title (Lucas di Grassi) and in the following season, it won the teams’ title (Lucas di Grassi/Daniel Abt). Schaeffler has been contributing its know-how to the development of the powertrain since 2015. In doing so, the company demonstrates its expertise in forward-thinking technologies and presents ideas for sustainable mobility for tomorrow in the innovative electric racing series.