A capital chance: Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler to take on Berlin


Formula E Schaeffler
The tenth race of the Formula E season is a very special one for Team Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler. On Saturday, May 25, pilots Daniel Abt and Lucas di Grassi will take on the German capital’s city circuit and will be supported by the “Green Wall” consisting of 400 Schaeffler employees. Moreover, no decision has yet been made in the Formula E title fight.

Home round feeling in Germany! The tenth of 13 races of the 2018/2019 Formula E season in Berlin marks the highlight for Schaeffler on Saturday, 25 May. “I’m tremendously excited about it!” says Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler driver Daniel Abt. The local hero from Kempten literally wrote Formula E history at the Berlin race the year before: pole position, fastest race lap and a lights-to-flag victory ahead of his Brazilian teammate, Lucas di Grassi. “Simply unforgettable! Now we’re going to give everything it takes to celebrate on the podium again in Berlin,” Abt says.

The great Green Wall: Total team spirit

Taking on the challenges of the circuit located on the premises of the former Tempelhof airport, Daniel Abt and Lucas di Grassi will enjoy the special support of more than 400 Schaeffler employees. As before, their “colleagues” from various Schaeffler locations will form the so-called “Green Wall” in a dedicated grandstand. In this way, Schaeffler demonstrates its vibrant global team spirit at the race track. “I can hardly wait to race in front of the all-green wall again and to battle for success,” says Lucas di Grassi, eagerly anticipating the Berlin pursuit.

Nine rounds, eight different winners

Most recently, in Monaco, the reigning teams’ champions remained without points: Lucas di Grassi was pushed off track by a rival and Daniel Abt retrospectively lost his eighth place due to a time penalty for having caused a collision. This season has seen them clinch four podium finishes: one victory and one second place for di Grassi and two third places for Abt. The closest title race in Formula E so far remains completely open: in the first nine rounds, there were eight different winners. With a 17-point deficit, Lucas di Grassi currently sits in fifth position of the standings. 25 points are awarded for a victory.

This is Formula E

Formula E is a FIA-sanctioned motor racing series for fully electric cars. In 2018/2019, Formula E season five, eleven teams and 22 drivers are on the grid. Formula E races worldwide on temporary circuits in the hearts of metropolises such as Hong Kong, Berlin and New York City. From December 15, 2018 until July 14, 2019, the ABB FIA Formula E Championship is holding 13 rounds at twelve venues. Each race lasts 45 minutes, plus one lap.

Schaeffler in Formula E

Schaeffler is one of the co-founders and one of the most notable and successful players in Formula E. In the 2016/2017 season, Team Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler won the drivers’ title (Lucas di Grassi) and in the following season, it won the teams’ title (Lucas di Grassi/Daniel Abt). Schaeffler has been contributing its know-how to the development of the powertrain since 2015. In doing so, the company demonstrates its expertise in forward-thinking technologies and presents ideas for sustainable mobility for tomorrow in the innovative electric racing series. 

New technology

Formula E is entering a new era. The most conspicuous innovation for this season is that every driver has only one race car. The second-generation cars mark the end of the mid-race car swaps previously required as the battery capacity is now sufficient for the entire race. The cars’ futuristic design without a rear wing and the Halo protection system above the cockpit is also new.