The world champions take to the final

11/15/17 / WEC / Warm-Up

Although one more race of the FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) is yet to be contested, Schaeffler and Porsche have already achieved their major aim. In the most recent event at Shanghai, second place was enough for Earl Bamber, Timo Bernhard and Brendon Hartley to secure an early win of the world championship title in the WEC drivers’ classification. With an advantage of 42 points the trio is beyond the reach of any rivals. In the manufacturers’ classification, Schaeffler and Porsche can no longer be bumped from the top position either. As a result, the two companies have now won both world championship titles for the third time in succession after 2015 and 2016.

A triumphant run on the island state

For the finale of the 2017 season, the WEC campaign is traveling to Bahrain. The season’s last race will be held on the 5.412-kilometer Bahrain International Circuit. The Grand Prix circuit in the western part of the island state has been an integral component of the calendar ever since the WEC’s inaugural season in 2012. So far, Schaeffler and Porsche have competed in three events between 2014 and 2016, celebrating a victory in 2015.

In the motorsport scene, the WEC is well known as a particularly rigorous yet, at the same time, ideal testing laboratory for innovative powertrain technologies. It is an appropriate environment for a company like Schaeffler that is doing pioneering work in the development of hybrid systems for production vehicles. The Porsche 919 Hybrid, which is fielded in the top LMP1 category, is powered by both an internal combustion engine and an electric motor.

After the WEC comes Formula E

For Schaeffler, the WEC round in Bahrain marks the end of the 2017 motorsport season. But just two weeks later (December 2/3) on-track activities will continue for the technology group when the 2017/2018 Formula E season kicks off in Hong Kong. Schaeffler has been involved in the innovative electric racing series since its 2014/2015 inaugural season. Team Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler with driver Lucas di Grassi won the drivers’ title in 2017.